post #1 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-04-2019, 11:27 AM Thread Starter
Forum Member

Car Year: 2014
Car Model: Forester
Transmission: Automatic
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
1" lift OK with these tires?

I'm new to this. Bear with me.

I'm looking to install ADF's 1 inch lift (with the 1 3/8 rear lift option) on my '14 Forester.

Is it true that the lift would actually create LESS space between the tires and the wheel well surface? I had always assumed that a lift would provide more space - not less.

The reason I'm concerned is that I have slightly larger tires (P225/65R17) than what came with the vehicle. Would having a 1 inch lift cause problems with these tires?

Thank you!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-04-2019, 07:07 PM
Forum Member

Car Model: XT
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Not completely sure with your tire size as I run 235/65r17, but yes you will get less space. The rear wheels move closer to the front of the car the higher they are lifted. Just the way the geometry of the rear suspension works. Stock height with 235/65r17 was very close to rubbing on my car. After lift with multilink spacers I have more breathing room.

post #3 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-05-2019, 08:10 AM Thread Starter
Forum Member

Again, I'm a newbie to all of this so please forgive my ignorance but I still don't understand.
You mentioned that you got more breathing room with your lift. How? I thought you also said that a lift would give you less space.

post #4 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-05-2019, 08:23 AM Thread Starter
Forum Member

I guess what I am asking is .... what is the least expensive method (assuming a method exists) of getting a 1 inch or so lift while also gaining (or at least not losing) space within the wheel well?

Thank you tremendously for your help. I appreciate it beyond words.
post #5 of 16 (permalink) Old 06-05-2019, 10:00 AM
Forum Member