User Tag List

11Likes

post #1 of 30 (permalink) Old 12-03-2018, 05:20 PM Thread Starter
Forum Member

Car Year: 2019
Car Model: Limited
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
2019 hitch install. ecohitch 2 inch - DIY

This is a DIY on a 2019 forester limited showing the new torklift ecohitch install. I hope this might help those of you considering installing this yourself. I opted for the 2” receiver version… they also make a 1.25 as well.

The Subaru 1.25 inch hitch should go on in a similar way, but without the extra attachment points to the frame internally on each side that the ecohitch has.

I am not a mechanic, so there may be other approaches that are better, but I did follow the instructions generally, and found them understandable. I have commented here on other things to supplement the booklet they sent with the hitch.

Tools needed : 10mm, 14mm, 17mm , and 19mm (or ľ” ) sockets and wrenches. Some cutting tool for plastic and the aluminum heatshield such as a hacksaw, dremel tool, snips etc. A screw driver, Philips and flat screwdriver.I used a plastic pry bar, and a lg slip joint plier to take off the muffler holder.

It took me about 4.5 hours going slow so nothing got scratched and to take some pictures. Its easier than writing all this down! I was surprised how much “stuff” had to come off but it all made sense once your into it. I have never had a newer year car with all the plastic… and this is my first Subaru….but I suspect most are like this now for lighter weight etc. Here we go:

1. raise the tailgate and remove the two plastic Philips screw on a taillight cover. These unscrew a half turn , pop up the center, and then remove. Do the other taillight cover the same way. I used a plastic trim pry bar if it sticks some.