Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

What are your real world miles per gallon?

('14-'18) 
40K views 183 replies 114 participants last post by  morrcarr67 
#1 ·
Newbie here don't ya know too yet.

I am sure that this topic has been covered to death, but, since I am looking into a 2015 or 2016 Forester, I want the latest, best, up-to-date info you all have.

So, although it says that highway mileage will be ...... MPG, I am fairly sure that those numbers are measured at 50 or 55 MPH. What I want to know is, what would the numbers be at 70 or 75 MPH. So please tell me what you are getting, and with which engine.

Thanks.

Railfan

#2 ·
Hi, we live in Northern Indiana. Drove to Indy on Wed. for emergency surgery for my Wife. Very windy that day, ran 73 mph all the way, my longest run yet in our 2014 2.5i Limited. Got a round trip of 26.6 mpg. I would not care what mpg I get in this vehicle. We both love it especially in Winter.

#3 ·
Our 15na avgs 27mpg at 80mph without the roof bars. 26 with them on. 24-25 if anything is on top.

Tempted to remove the stock Duelers and put on the Michelin Primacy or Yok AVID Envigor(or Ascend). Either tire should add 2mpg.

Sent from my VS985 4G using Tapatalk

#5 ·
I have attached my PDF of my mileage logs. I started it when I had a 2011 Forester, but now I have a 2014 Forester. Overall I am happy I make the switch to the CVT as the mpg is much better. I generally don't use it during warmer months, as its mainly my winter car. 2 page pdf report should be attached here.

Attachments

#10 ·
I've had a 2016 XT for a few weeks and my wife drives a 2014 limited....on road trips to upstate NY her Forester averages 29-31 on the highway, pretty loaded and going 65-75 mph. I was pretty impressed when my XT averaged 28-29 on the same trip, although mine is definitely worse in city driving.

#11 ·