Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
Frank & the FXT
172 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to the 02+ line of Subarus and Foresters.

Will wrx struts from all years (02+) fit an 04 Forester or just certain years?

·
Registered
2004 Forester XT 4EAT
177 Posts
I don't know, but I know 04 WRX struts fit my 04 Forester. Put it this way, when Subaru changed the Impreza body style from the bugeye to the 04, Subaru only changed the looks of the front of the Impreza. So, I would guess that 02 WRX suspension would work with your 04 Forester. Maybe.

·
Registered
Frank & the FXT
172 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That's what I'm hoping for, found '02 suspension for less than $150 shipped.

What about rear sway bars?

·
Premium Member
'09 STI
4,129 Posts
Well, they changed the rear strut top in 04 as well as the end of the rod. There are compatibility issues between years. If you have complete units it may not be an issue.

I used to recommend WRX struts as an alternative to STi takeoffs but I believe someone here had issues with the WRX rear spring rate being too soft for a Forester when loaded up.

·
Premium Member
'09 STI
4,129 Posts
Scoobyslack said:
That's what I'm hoping for, found '02 suspension for less than $150 shipped.

What about rear sway bars?
Sounds like a good deal but I would be wary of struts this old. There's only one way to find out. The STi rear is a 20MM solid I think and will bolt in but you'll want the chassis mounts also. You can find them cheap new as well as used.

Some members have had problems with the lateral link mount breaking but most of these were at close to stock height.

·
Registered
Frank & the FXT
172 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
NahdaDamdyke said:
Well, they changed the rear strut top in 04 as well as the end of the rod. There are compatibility issues between years. If you have complete units it may not be an issue.
changed in what way?
different diameter? thickness of the 'tophat'?