Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Guys,

I have on 03 Forester X 5spd. I have been using M1 since 18000 KM. Lately, I have been seeing posts on nasioc about the problems with M1.

Thoughts?

·
'03 XS MT PSM
2015 Ford Focus ST
2,371 Posts
Mobil 1 is fine. It's been in my Forester since 5k (now just under 41k) and also in the WRX since 3k (now at 14k).

·
admin
2019 3.6R & 98 Forester Atlanta, GA
7,251 Posts
I'm old school. I just use good quality dino and change it often. I use Chevron Supreme and buy it by the case.

·
#8 Post ho
1999 Subaru Forester
2,441 Posts
I've been using M1 5w-30 w/a fram "sure grip" filter for 2 months. No problems so far and oil level hasn't dropped at all.

J

·
0 Posts
At 24,000 mi. I switched my wife's 03 Forester to Mobile 1 and the Napa Gold (same as the WIX) oil filter, which is one of the best oil filters on the market. I ran the oil and filter for 10,000 mi. and last fall changed the oil and oil filter, this time switching to Mobile 1 EP, and installed a new Napa Gold filter. After 10,000 mi. on the Mobile 1 EP I'm going to change the oil and oil filter and have Blackstone Labs do a used oil analysis on the used oil.

I drive an 03 Ford Ranger with the 3.0 liter V6. This is the "Vulcan" engine that's been around for a long time, not the newer Ford Duratec 3.0 liter V6. At 9,000 mi. I switched it to Mobile 1 and a Purolator Pure One oil filter (also one of the best oil filters on the market). Last fall, after 10,000 mi. on the Mobil 1, I changed the oil, again using Mobile 1 and a Pure One filter. After 10,000 mi. I'm going to have Blackstone Labs do a used oil analysis and will switch over to Mobile 1 EP.

I've had no problem with either vehicle as a result of using the Mobile 1 and haven't had to add oil to either vehicle between changes.