Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
2006 Forester XT Limited
106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,
I'm new to your wonderful forum. I've been a wagon lover forever, and since the Evo wagon (love how rare it is) is only available in Japan, and the Audi A3 TDI (gas mileage and practicality) is out of my price range I'm considering a Forester. Now don't think that I'm putting the Forester 3rd or anything here, I've always thought it was the best looking scooby, no matter what the editors of magazines say. I will admit that I think the newer ones, albeit better cars, are not as attractive as the muscular fenders and little spoiler on the '04.
Now, because of my budget I am not stuck on the XT, but it is preferable. However, being an '04 is the main concern as I personally think it's the best looking one. Is there anything I need to know about this car in particular? Stay away from high mileage? Stay away from one's with a certain tranny? I'm an old modder of cars, but more and more am coming to the realization that stock cars just work better, so I'm not going to mess with anything (this realization also came after putting 12k into a race track/show going integra, then I bought a 94 cbr 600 for 3500 and I decided not to put money into cars, just buy a faster bike). If I got the XT it would be hard (read impossible) for me to not get a boost controller and get a new downpipe (I read once a few years back you get something like 40 hp from these two mods?). Anywho, what 'cha got for me guys?

My ideal car would be a clean, manual, 40k mile, white xt with a ski rack for $11k. Realistic?

I really appreciate anything guys.

·
Registered
2005 Forester XT 4eat
4,581 Posts
The '05 XT is basically the same as the '04, but they added the moonroof option to the manual transmission models.

·
Registered
2006 Forester XT Limited
106 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·