Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2005 Forester 2.5XS 5 speed
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time posting here. I just picked up a used forester with some issues, and I was hoping to get some opinions on if I should repair the car, or just try and sell it...

Background on the car:

2005 Forester XS manual
Just over 200k miles
salvage title for a rear end accident (rear bumper replaced with used, off color)
Alignment checked out, all good
Timing belt sticker shows it was replaced at 160k in 2014
all 4 brakes pads, rotors replaced recently, along with a new clutch

The issues:

I happened to notice one day that the temperature gauge didn't stay locked in one position. It would move up and down slightly, but never got over halfway. I figured I would need to replace the thermostat, put new coolant in, and be back on the road.

Got a look at the underside of the car today, and it looks like there's a coolant leak coming from the water pump! (I attached a picture)

The front u joint on the drive shaft also seems to be bad as well...

I picked up the car for what seemed like a good deal, and I have put about 200 miles on it. Everything seemed really great and in good shape before these issues showed up...

So I feel like I have 2 options:
1. Replace TB, WP, driveshaft and keep the car.
2. Sell the car as is, and try to get some money back, or do some repairs and sell it

I bought this car thinking i would keep it long term as my daily driver, and it would need work eventually. But I'm a little upset it needs work so soon!! Should I just wash my hands of this car or try and hold onto it?

What do you think I should do? And does the picture look like a waterpump leak, or should I be worried about headgaskets too? Thanks for any help you can offer!

Attachments

·
Registered
2012 Forester X 5 MT
881 Posts
How bad is the leak? How much did you pay for the car? How long would you like to keep it?