Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
2003 Forrester S Turbo
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well I have had my 52 plate S Turbo for 3 months and coming from a MG ZT-T i have been very pleasently surprised at how many options the Forester gives you, but I am now looking at maybe doing some work on the car, but I am a complete mechanic idiot. In fact I am embarrased about my complete lack of knowledge, so I apologise for anything stupid I now ask.

I guess my first question is about tyres. I have read a lot of the other posts, but I am afraid a lot of it is too technical for me.

I am looking at replacing the alloys. My MG had 18" tyres and they looked nice, and I am guessing from an aesthetic perspective there are some that look nicer than others, and there are other they may impact performance etc.

I use my Forrester for commuting (I am particularly hard hit by petrol atm!) and I am looking for some advice for some tyres which look aesthicaly nice, but are also functional and I guess the issue will be price, so I guess the question would be what sort of tyres to go for.

I live in Birmingham, so I don't know if there are any places people might suggest?

I guess the other question I have is about the ride. The Forester tends to wallow alot I find, and a colleague suggested an anti roll bar and maybe lowering the suspension to improve the ride.

However I am afraid I don't understand how that will necessarily make a difference.

Could any of you please enlighten me and once again apologies if these sound like stupid questions.

·
Registered
99 UK S-turbo
8,566 Posts
Handling, first mods are a stiffer rear ARB from a UK turbo/WRX/STi classic, then rear subframe bolts, the difference those two make is out of all recognition.