Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all!

I am new to the subie world and have been looking for my first forester.
My question is: I've seen a few foresters 03-04 2.5 xt"s w/ 100,000 miles listed at around 6000. Does this sound right?
Also was wondering if anyone has had experience buying from used car dealers
if only bought used cars from the dealer or privatly. Never from a "non braned" place. Hope that makes sence.
Thanks for the help.
-Brian

·
Registered
2003 Forester
21 Posts
The price range is pretty good. My area the price is about 8,000 for over 100,000 miles.

The thing is with small dealers it all boils down to the person who owned the Subie. Most small dealers get theirs from auction houses. The large dealers may get them as trade ins. Normal things to look for, Transmission fluid is red and doesn't smell burnt. Check the front differential dip stick for clean and full level gear lube. Review the tires for wear on the inside which may be from wheel alignment being off.

I have only 83,000 miles on mine but it runs like a champ.The only thing I don't like is it seems you have to keep on top of tire rotation if not not the tires will wear quicker.

·
Premium Member
2019 Crosstrek 2018 XT
14,392 Posts
Bear in mind that the Timing belt needs changed at 105K miles. That service is north of 1000 bucks bc the water pump, idlers, seals, etc are replaced.

·
Registered
none none
8,844 Posts
Hello all!

I am new to the subie world and have been looking for my first forester.
My question is: I've seen a few foresters 03-04 2.5 xt"s w/ 100,000 miles listed at around 6000. Does this sound right?
Also was wondering if anyone has had experience buying from used car dealers
if only bought used cars from the dealer or privatly. Never from a "non braned" place. Hope that makes sence.
Thanks for the help.
-Brian