Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts
N

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi all!

i'm a newbie here, currently contemplating spending for my first Subaru -a forester 2.5 X premium. my first toy was a CRV and switching to one with a boxer engine and AWD is still uncharted territory.

on my visit to to the dealer, i popped the big question of course: why should i buy a subaru? dealer came up with "ask any subaru owner, they'll all say they love it!"

so here i am, to somehow validate the claim...

nathan

·
Premium Member
98 Forester...what else
5,714 Posts
Umm...here's a little story...I'm sure everyone else has heard, so I'll make it the Cliff notes version:

We bought a 1998 Forester w/60k on the odometer. Kanga was a wonderful Forester, and she did everything we asked of her. She died saving the life of an inattentive girl, and in the process wound up upside down in a seven foot deep drainage ditch. I walked away with a scratch on my knee from extricating myself from her safe haven. I still miss Kanga.

With the insurance settlement, we went down to a used car dealer, and found a lonely, abused, white 2001 Forester S Premium. The rear seats were near threadbare where the child seats had been, but the engine/body panels/drivetrain were in great shape. Dubbed Kanga II, she entered our lives on December 26, 2003. In a series of events, I left her in Southern California in the care of RallyNav, as her Forester.
I now live with a Forester owner, and have the privilege of driving said Forester (XT) on the weekends, and occasionally during the week. Will I own anything that's not a Subaru? NOT LIKELY!!

1. Safest small SUV ever tested by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety.
2. Excellent handling (once you get rid of the stock tires), small enough not to be intrusive, yet big enough to haul things.
3. Have you got a look at the moonroof? 8 acres big, if it's a square inch!!