Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 136 Posts

·
Casper reincarnated
2,245 Posts
@Canonshooter Let me begin by saying I have no experience myself in driving in sand, but, from what I have read on numerous Forums:

The one thing you forgot to mention was that the "plastic sump guard" can be a real hazard itself in sand, either remove it first or replace it with a solid aluminum one.

·
Pleiads' biggest leghumper
04's 2 FXT's.
9,263 Posts
Great write up!

joe r

·
Premium Member
2007 Forester XT 4EAT-VTD
2,138 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Let me begin by saying I have no experience myself in driving in sand, but, from what I have read on numerous Forums:

The one thing you forgot to mention was that the "plastic sump guard" can be a real hazard itself in sand, either remove it first or replace it with a solid aluminum one.
Casper, thanks for taking the time to read the article and comment! Though I have yet to have any difficulty with the OEM shield, the aluminum aftermarket version looks much more sturdy. I did have to replace one of those little plastic spoilers in front of the front wheels though.

·
Administrator
16,595 Posts
Yeah, good write up & good advice. May want to add a warning not to turn too quickly on sand as the vehicle can roll. This has been the downfall of many novice sand drivers.

My step-daughter returned from Fraser Island (largest sand island in the world?) late last night and I know that somewhere up there they rolled their Suzuki. I'm waiting to hear the full details but if it was on sand I'm willing to bet that turning too quickly was the cause. I do know that everyone is OK - thank god!

PS - so since this post I've found out they didn't even make it to the island but lost control after hitting a pot hole on a mainland dirt road on their way to the island.

·
Sydney Dinner Organiser
MY05 XT luxury
1,694 Posts