Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
04 forester
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK, I have 130 k on my '04 Forester. I'm shopping around for a good price. I know I'm a bit overdue, but am I in serious trouble if I don't get it done today, or do I have a little wiggle room? I do 100 miles a day. I don't notice any noise or performance issues, but I'm not a mechanic and don't know what to look for. Ya think I can squeeze a few more k out of it before I start sweating? The $ is an issue right now.
Thanks!

·
Administrator
2016 & 2018 2.5i Premium CVT
19,362 Posts
It sounds like you're aware that the maintenance schedule calls for replacement at 105k miles. This is an important one. You won't notice noise or performance issues. This doesn't degrade gracefully. The only symptom is a broken engine.

·
Registered
none none
8,844 Posts
The life of the belt really varies, some have had heavy wear even at 60,000 miles. The one on my FXT taken off at 110,000 miles looks very good, the printing is partially worn off but can still be seen in areas. The only way to really know is to pull off the timing belt covers and check it or just replace it. At 130,000 though I woudl definitely get it done ASAP as thats definitely pushing it. If it fails it will be sudden and will generally require at least an engine rebuilt (the pistons and valves will collide requiring new or rebuilt heads, and possibly new pistons if damaged enough).

·
Premium Member
2019 Forester Touring
2,988 Posts
Don't wait, period. Timing belts do not give you a warning. If it pops while you're loafing at 2500 RPMs on the highway, you are toast!

You are so far over the factory-spec'ed interval that it could go anytime now....you've used up your safety margin and are now running on vapors.

Find the place that you trust most and get it done yesterday....period. You'll hate yourself if you break down.

Steve

·
Registered
1998 Forester
593 Posts