Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
2002 Forester L
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I own an 02 subby and im wondering if I will cause any major damage to it if I go mudding. It is all stock. I dont plan on modding it at all.

·
Registered
2005 Forester XT 4eat
4,583 Posts
Mud can be some sticky stuff. If you get stuck in it, you can definitely break things. If it's watery stuff, you can drown your car if you get deep enough that it gets sucked into the intake. It would have to be pretty deep to suck mud into the intake. The diffs have breathers that mud and water can get into also, so if you do get into some deep stuff, you should check the diffs for contamination.

·
Registered
2002 Forester L
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
thanks but how easy is it to check the diff to make sure there clean because im a newbie

·
Registered
none none
8,844 Posts
Mudding causes damage to anything, even the built up offroad trucks. If salt is used in the area the mud will also corrode metal.

How deep is the mud you plan on going through? If its any higher than the middle of the wheels I'd skip it.

·
Registered
2002 Forester L
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
i dont know how high it is but i might skip it and just ride in my friends tahoe or try to use his jeep

·
Registered
2005 Forester XT 4eat
4,583 Posts
i dont know how high it is but i might skip it and just ride in my friends tahoe or try to use his jeep
Good idea! The Forester is ok at getting around on unpaved roads and avoiding getting stuck, but not so great if you are trying to get yourself into trouble. Driving into water of undeterminable depth is just a bad idea in these cars.

·
Registered
04 Forester X, MT
1,039 Posts
if going into iffy areas at a minimum you should add tubing to diff and/or tranny breather fittings to get above possible water level and avoid getting water/mud/gunk in diff and/or tranny.

·
Registered
38 Posts