Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
06 FXT-6MT happening
341 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
OK so since I am just getting started with Forester stuff, I thought I would try and contribute.
This may or may not help anyone but if it does, then i'm happy.

So, here we go.
What I did was line up springs from all 3 cars, because I have all 3 sets of springs sitting here to compare.
I own 3 Subarus and have collected a few parts over the last few years.

What I did was set them all up on flat-level concrete and measured the relaxed height of all, as well as the wire diameter for each set.

(1) 2005 STi take off springs 17K total miles:
Front 10-3/8" with a 13.9mm wire diameter
Rear 11-7/16" with a 13.6mm wire diameter

(2) 2005 2.5i Sedan springs 9K total miles:
Front 11-11/16 height with a 13.6mm wire diameter
Rear 12-3/16 height with a 12.9mm wire diameter

(3) 2005 WRX Wagon springs 31K total miles:
Front 11-3/4" height with a 13.9mm wire diameter
Rear 12-9/16" height with a 12.9mm wire diameter

(4) 2005 WRX Sedan springs 22K total miles:
Still mounted to the struts so no free length obtained.
Wire diameter is 13.8mm front and 12.9mm rear

So:
The 2.5i Sedan springs use the smallest wire diameter up front.

The STi springs are the shortest (front and rear)

The WRX Wagon springs are definitely taller in the rear, but the wire diameter is smaller than the STi, yet the wire diameter is the same as the 2.5i Sedan AND the WRX Sedan in the rear.

Here are the pics I took, you can see the WRX Sedan struts in the background.
I used a digital caliper to get wire diameter and a level with a tape measure for the relaxed heights.

Hopefully this helps someone, if not, it helps me out for future reference...
Enjoy.

·
Registered
Ah crap.. I'm back with my 05 XS
8,296 Posts