Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to Subaru. I picked up my 2018 Forester Touring about 6 weeks ago and really really like it. My questions are about keeping up-to-date with all the "software" that's in the vehicle. I'm talking about things like Eyesight, Starlink, Starlink Apps and anything else that might not have a "brand" name.

How are we notified if an update is available?
Are updates installed by the dealer? Do we need to request them?
If we, the owners, install, where is the documentation about how to do it?

Any insight is appreciated.

·
Registered
523 Posts
Generally the dealer has to do the updates as I think they are the only ones that have access to the software. Navigation map data may be the one that the owner could do, but not sure. I believe that Subaru went with Tom Tom nav software in the '18 so it may be possible to update it yourself. Generally owners are only identified about software updates if its a critical issue. Most TSBs are if the customer complains, do this variety.

I guess this is intended to make you bring your car into the dealer.

·
Registered
2,305 Posts
You will never be notified unless there is a recall. When you take your car in for service, you can inquire if there are any TSB's and, if so, request that they be performed. General rule of thinking..."if it ain't broken, don't fix it!"

Updates can ONLY be installed by your dealer. NAV can be done by the owner.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Software update notification fail

We love our 2017 Forester!
However, on a road trip last month, in the middle of Kansas our charging system failed. We spent a day getting "jumps" and limping to a dealer for a fix. Turns out we needed a software update for the "battery".
Is there no way to let owners know about these, or do we need to call the dealer before any road trip.
Subaru says, basically, so what?
Not what I expected.