Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Premium Member
07 Forester XT
6,759 Posts
Discussion Starter #1

I've been stockpiling the parts for the upgrade, some for as long as 2 years now. This will be a big upgrade to me, I have all the suspension where I want it and its more for fun than anything else that I'm adding a little power.

- 08 STI TMIC
- VF48
- Cobb DP (already have 3 inch WBR catback)
- Protune from our local Subie tuner
- Fumoto valve
- 07 STI steering rack

The steering rack isn't a power mod, since its going into the shop I'm having it all done at once. I've purchased a set of Whiteline steering rack bushings to go in since its all already off the car.

Should be ready for Wednesday, I'm sure it will be a whole different beast when I pick it up. I've been logging my fuel mileage religiously since the day I bought it so I'll easily be able to see how these mods affect fuel economy, not that its a concern for me as modded XT's still return reasonable mileage.

·
Premium Member
2009 Outback XT-B 5MT
10,254 Posts
So you have an updated crossmember?

·
Premium Member
07 Forester XT
6,759 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
^^ No, we're going to use a prybar and make it fit :chair: JK, yes I do it just wasn't in the pic since its a big piece of ugly pressed metal.

·
Registered
2006 Forester XT Limited 4EAT
2,000 Posts
^^ No, we're going to use a prybar and make it fit :chair: JK, yes I do it just wasn't in the pic since its a big piece of ugly pressed metal.
LMFAO

·
Registered
2006 Forester XT Limited 4EAT
2,000 Posts
Nope, just the labor to fit it.

·
Premium Member
2009 Outback XT-B 5MT
10,254 Posts
It's a pain in the donkey to do, and a pain in the wallet to pay someone to do. You have to do most of it from under the car, because you need a hoist to hold the engine in place when you unbolt it.

Then you need to do an alignment.

·
Premium Member
07 Forester XT
6,759 Posts
Discussion Starter #12