Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Everyone,

I have very limited car expertise (actually, almost none) and I am hoping for some advice from you good people on my 2015 Subaru forester.

It is at the dealership right now having the engine block rebuilt (under warranty) because it has been going through enormous amounts of oil. They just called to tell me the flash wheel has hot spots on it and suggested I replace the clutch while the engine is out. They would charge me about $850 for parts and nothing for labor. If the clutch goes later, labor will cost about $1,000.

I bought the car used from Carmax last November. Up until now I have just had to replace the battery and had a four wheel alignment. The car has 35,500 miles on it. It had 27,000 miles when I bought it. I don't know anything about how the car was treated before I bought it, obviously, but I am a pretty gentle driver. I use it mostly for trips around town, although once a month I take a six hour drive roundtrip to the airport.

I would be grateful for any help or advice you could give me! Do you think I can jolly the clutch along long enough to make up for the $1,000 extra labor cost?

The dealership sent me a picture of the flywheel and I am trying to attach it to this email. . .

Thanks in advance for any help!!!

Best,

Karen

Attachments

·
Registered
2012 Forester X 5 MT
881 Posts
That's pretty steep for parts.

A complete clutch kit (soup to nuts) from RockAuto is around $200 plus another $75 if you also replace the flywheel (if it were mine I would not).

You might ask if labor is still "free" if you supply your own parts. Betcha not.

·
Registered
2005 Forester 2.5X RWD JDM 6mt
454 Posts
Let me see the disc itself, not the flywheel.

Sounds like they are trying to rob you, because at 35,000 miles it should have 85%+ life left. It is really hard to wear out the non-turbo car clutches that fast.

Dishonest dealer scare tactics.

·