Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2014 Forester
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Subaru's fatal flaw - yes - I know Scotty, I'm living it, no more CVTs for me either . . .

·
Registered
2017 Forester 2.5i CVT
166 Posts
I enjoy Scotty's videos too, but as one of the professional Subaru Technicians says in the comments below the original video, he misses the mark here. In prior threads in this forum we addressed how CVT GEN-2 up into 2016 had known flaws, one in a torque converter bushing, one was lack of a filter in the CVT valve body. These issues were not only corrected in 2017-2019, but Subaru gave the 100000 mile warranty extension as well for CVT's before 2017. Subaru is backing up for and fixing their mistakes.
I am an expert Jeep Cherokee 5 speed stick driver for twenty years, but my Subaru CVT is smooth, highly responsive when passing or climbing hills, and since I got a programming update enhances traction to the rear wheels in bad weather. On my 2017, it is the best transmission I have ever had.

·
Registered
2014 Forester
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
John L.,

You're lucky, my 2014 is a dangerous vehicle now. The unresponsiveness of my CVT is down right scary. Had the CVT fluid changed and had the re-learning done for $300 and didn't help anything. I'm in agreement with Scotty on this one for sure, should've gotten a manual.

·
Registered
2016 Foz CVT
946 Posts
...CVT GEN-2 up into 2016 had known flaws, one in a torque converter bushing, one was lack of a filter in the CVT valve body. These issues were not only corrected in 2017-2019, but Subaru gave the 100000 mile warranty extension as well for CVT's before 2017.
Pretty sure that was just 2014 and 2015. 2016+ did not get the warranty extension. If I recall, the improvements were made 2016+

·
Registered
2019 Tacoma TRD OR 4x4 6AT
547 Posts
John L.,