Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2008 XTEN
424 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Good afternoon All.

I am new to the world of Foresters and have joined this Forum in order to obtain expert advice and avoid buying the wrong Vehicle.

I am looking to replace an Abbott Racing tuned Saab 9000 Aero with a car that can be tuned to offer similar levels of performance with the advantages of better ground clearance and better traction while still retaining that essential ability to bring a grin to my face and take out a line of slow moving taffic...

The Forester seems the ideal choice but which version is the best basis for further tuning? Budget is around £6k to include any improvements. The car must be a manual and I would prefer an understated exterior.

My initial thoughts are a good S-turbo with a ppp but would an S/TB be a better bet? I have tried to search but this Forum's search engine doesn't recognise s/tb.

Many thanks

·
Don, King of the parts diagram
MY11 WRX STi Sedan 6MT
5,870 Posts

·
Registered
2008 XTEN
424 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thankyou very much for your reply - very useful links.

I take it JDM = Japanese Domestic Market?

It would also seem that a PPP may not really be worth paying much of a premium for unless the exhaust system provides a good basis for future tuning?

After an afternoon searching on the internet looking for tuners it appears that I may be fortunate as a certain Mr Forrest is only 10 miles down the road.:biggrin:

Are there any particular sites or places to find a good used Forester?

Many thanks

·
Registered
2004 Subaru Forester XT 5 speed manual.
741 Posts
Good luck on your search. :)
Where are you from?

·
Premium Member
2008 Forester Cross Sport AUTO
4,597 Posts
Welcome.

Before I got into Foz's I had a SAAB 9000 Aero that was bonkers!

British Racing Green, Reg N 4ERO it looked liked AERO.

This thing was chipped (before I understood Mapping) at 300 bhp.