Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2019 Ascent CVT
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings,

My 2007 Sports XT is in great shape topside (inside and out). But what lurks underneath isn't as pretty. As a general matter, how big of an operation is dealing with the rust? I have no experience with it, but I suppose the exhaust can be replaced. What about any rust on the frame? Full disclosure: At this point I'm more interested on how this affects trade-in/resale value than getting a repair myself.

Thanks for any insights!

Attachments

·
Registered
2006 Subaru Forester XT 5MT
190 Posts
For a FXT with less than 55k on it, it's belly sure has seen better days. I would think the rust issue would be more of an problem with a private sale. However you most likely will be offered considerably less as a trade in to whatever you can sell it for privately. 5MT SG9 have a much better resale value compared to what KBB lists as their value, specially a low mileage one. It is a shame judging by the pictures, repair/replacement would be costly and any work will be a nightmare with every nut and bolt rusted out if the entire undercarriage is as bad as it appears with the suspension/ rear diff pictures.

·
Super Moderator
2018 X3 M40i / 2016 X3 xDrive35i
1,622 Posts
FWIW I've bought this car and will be restoring it to glory with the rust mitigation being a big item. The unibody is in quite good shape with most of the rust being on the subframes, crossmembers, nuts and bolts. Metal Rescue Rust Removing Gel appears to be an applicable product that, applied right, should hopefully address the areas that are most concerning and help ensure nuts/bolts can be serviceable.

The worst of the rust is towards the rear from the kickup of salt/chemicals. The front looks pretty good for the most part.

Example:

·
Registered
2006 Forester XTE 5 speed manual
284 Posts