Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2006 XT
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm in that awkward stage of doing incessant comparisons between my beloved late '00 Forester and my fierce '06 XT....I'm sure most of you can relate...
The most annoying issue is how the roof rails on the '06 have practically receded into the body, design-wise, as not to include any slots in which to thread tie-down straps through. I'm an artist, and I hauled a lot of stuff on my '00's rack, and without those slots, I'm going to have to annoyingly reinvent the system....OR....
Does anyone know if its possible to replace the roof rails with different ones that are more functional??
Has anyone ever modified their roof rails?
Or, lastly, are there further attachment accessories that might do the trick?
Thanks in advance for any insights into this issue!

·
Registered
2007 Forester 2.5x SE
879 Posts
I am like the OP. I hate that my Forester doesn't have loop holes in the roof rails. Now the OEM (aero style) cross bars that came with my Forester, like knickl06's first link, do allow me to loop around the end, but the way that it is designed, the rope gets pinched and makes it more difficult to tighten and untie.

I noticed some model years have, what looks like the same style roof rails, but with loop holes in the end pieces. I wonder if the end pieces are interchangeable. Does anyone know. Has anyone tried it?

·
Registered
2006 XT
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Nickl - thanks so much for posting those links...I'm totally going to investigate those options!
James - that red Forester was from the same era as my old one, which I'm slowly discovering was way more utility oriented...it seems like my new '06 is almost too fancy for what I need!