Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2003 Forester X
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Howdy folks,

I am attempting my first time at brake work, and after looking around at some tutorials and such, it doesn't seem so bad.

However, I am a college student away from home, and so my tools are limited. I have a full socket set and a basic toolbox, but one thing I've read over and over is to have a C-Clamp to compress the piston when you put the caliper back on with the new pad.

I don't have a C-Clamp here at college, and am having trouble finding somebody with one. Is there another way to do this? If not, what size do I need? I'd like to buy the smallest one I can that will fit around those calipers.

Either way, I know I will save money over taking it to the shop!

Thanks in advance!

Ben

·
Registered
2008 Sports 2.5x
335 Posts
C-Clamp

Howdy folks,

I don't have a C-Clamp here at college, and am having trouble finding somebody with one. Is there another way to do this? If not, what size do I need? I'd like to buy the smallest one I can that will fit around those calipers.

Ben
Check out Harbor Freight or a pawn shop for a cheap 6" C-Clamp. Doesn't have to be high quality to compress the piston.

·
Registered
2003 XS
169 Posts
Most hardware and auto supply shops carry them. They aren't terribly expensive. It's worth the investment, especially if you plan on doing the brakes again.

·
Registered
53 Posts
If the calipers are in good shape, you can usually push the piston back into the caliper body using your thumbs. Opening the bleeder valve will make it easier, but you run the risk of getting some air into your hydraulic system. Then you have to bleed the brakes!

That isn't necessarily a bad thing, though. If you want to keep the system in good condition, it is a good idea to replace the brake fluid every year.

·
Registered
none none
8,844 Posts