Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
98 Forester
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello. I just joined. I have a 98 Forester that blew a head gasket. The dealer tore the engine apart and told me I needed a bunch of stuff including a new block. They said the cylinder walls were damaged. They wanted $7000 for the repair. I towed it home with the engine in pieces in the back of the car. I'm not a mechanic, but several folks looked at the cylinder walls and said they were perfectly fine. They said the factory honing marks are still there (after 141K miles). I want to save this car as I LOVE it, but I need a manual to tell me how to put the motor back together (with updated head gaskets). I can't fine one anywhere. Neither Haynes or Chiltons has one. The Subaru service manual doesn't tell me how to remove/install motor. I tried searching the forums, but could not narrow the search results enough. The new Foresters are nice, but I like my boxy looking '98. See the pic of the supposedly damaged cylinders. Each cylinder looks like this.

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
2007 Forester Sports XT 4EAT
35,929 Posts
I see this is your first post, so welcome to the forum from Oregon. :biggrin:

Sorry to hear of your engine problems. If it were me, I'd have another shop look it over. If the head gasket was the only issue, perhaps that's all that needs to be replaced. In addition, if you need a new engine, you might be able to get a used engine for much less. :confused:

As to a repair manual. You could go here to the Subaru Technical Information Site (STIS), but it's not a free service. :frown:

Bobby...

My MODding Journal

·
Registered
1998 Cayenne GTS 6speed
1,752 Posts
techinfo.subaru.com, alldatadiy.com

And there is a big difference between 98 and later years - the engine is DOHC, so you need the manual for that year.

·
Registered
04 Forester X, MT
1,051 Posts
the picture looks pretty good.