Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2015 Forester with manual transmission. I have notice a couple of times now that when I am starting up a steep grade that the RPM's go higher if I press down on the gas but then come back down. One time was when I first shifted into 5th gear as I was going up the hill and then yesterday I noticed it again when I was starting to pass someone as we were going up hill.

I live in western NC so it is quite hilly. The car has 50K on it. Not sure if this is a sign that the clutch is starting to slip already or if it is something else? I have been driving sticks off and on for the past 35 yrs.

Thanks

·
Registered
2018 Premium M6
348 Posts
I have a 2015 Forester with manual transmission. I have notice a couple of times now that when I am starting up a steep grade that the RPM's go higher if I press down on the gas but then come back down. One time was when I first shifted into 5th gear as I was going up the hill and then yesterday I noticed it again when I was starting to pass someone as we were going up hill.

I live in western NC so it is quite hilly. The car has 50K on it. Not sure if this is a sign that the clutch is starting to slip already or if it is something else? I have been driving sticks off and on for the past 35 yrs.

Thanks
It's possible but not sure how likely it is. I have 140k on my 2014 and it's the original clutch though i do get a decent amount of throwout bearing squeal upon startup when it it is cold out.

I have a very steep driveway and I've smelled clutch if back up it and I stop in the middle and have to start again. And I've driven manuals in trucks/cars/bikes exclusively since 1978 :grin2:

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Someone suggested to me that it was probably a bad pressure plate. Any thoughts on that? What would be the indicators of a bad pressure plate vs a friction(disc) plate? Without tearing into it?

·