Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Forum Member
2004 FXT
952 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I never thought I'd be one of those guys to make a thread like this, but it has come down to crunch time and I'm not sure which size to get... I'm new to the car "mod" world (been playing w/ motorcycles for a while now).

I want some 17" wheels, it's either 8" or 8.5" wide.

Vehicle: '04 FXT, Swift springs on GR2's

These are my choices...

ROTA Wheels G-Force 17x8 (5x100+48mm, 56.1 Hub)

ROTA Wheels Slipstream 17x8 (5x100+48mm, 56.1 Hub)

ROTA Wheels Slipstream 17x8.5 (5x100+48mm, 56.1 Hub)

I'm leaning towards the Rota Slipstreams, and if I do... which so I get? 8" or 8.5"? Will I need spacers? What is the 56.1 Hub that they're describing in the title?

Thanks for your input :)

·
Premium Member
2017 VW Golf SportWagen 5MT
10,784 Posts
56.1 is the size of the center of wheel hub in mm. When the wheel is hubcentric for a specific car, the hole in the middle of the wheel fits snug on the hub, centering the wheel perfectly. Otherwise you have to rely on the lugnuts to center the wheel.

8" vs 8.5" wheel -- with 8.5" your wheel will be pushed out 1/4" more on the outside and will have 1/4" less clearance to the strut. Not sure about fitment of 235/45 tire on 8.5" rim, it could be stretched -- but I could be wrong. You may be able to go with 235/50, too -- the "will this wheel/tire fit?" thread may be very helpful with this.

Stan

·
Registered
2004 XT
3,203 Posts
since u are sticking to 17's i would go with the slipstreams, as i think gforces are a great looking wheel, but only in 18's.

do you auto-x or track the car where the wider wheel will benefit you? if not the only thing the wider wheel will do just the appearance(for better or worse depending on who you ask) and make your gas mileage worse

·
Forum Member
2004 FXT
952 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the advice guys.