Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2014 XT Premium auto
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I don't want to get into brands, etc. and all those other circular discussions. But I am a newbie and a pre-purchaser. Planning on an XT Premium next year.
Just to gather more info, I found an open Subaru site where the owner's manual can be downloaded, in sections.
In reviewing the sections on specs and maintenance, it calls out oil weight as 0W20 synthetic. Should that not be 0w30 or is it a misprint?
Ironically, after calling out 0W20 it says the only suitable substitutions for topping off are 5W30 or 5W40. What happened to 5W20?
Maybe 0W30 is only for the turbo and I was in the wrong section of the manual?

·
Registered
2015 Impreza 5-Door Sport Auto (CVT)
2,351 Posts
I don't want to get into brands, etc. and all those other circular discussions. But I am a newbie and a pre-purchaser. Planning on an XT Premium next year.
Just to gather more info, I found an open Subaru site where the owner's manual can be downloaded, in sections.
In reviewing the sections on specs and maintenance, it calls out oil weight as 0W20 synthetic. Should that not be 0w30 or is it a misprint?
Ironically, after calling out 0W20 it says the only suitable substitutions for topping off are 5W30 or 5W40. What happened to 5W20?
Maybe 0W30 is only for the turbo and I was in the wrong section of the manual?
Don't know where you were reading all that, but it is incorrect information.

Engine Oil and Filter Turbo models WRX, STI, Forester 2.0XT *1
Synthetic 5w-30 synthetic oil required.

NO 0W-30, no 5W-20, no 0W-20 for the XT Turbo model you are considerint buying.

The recommended oil to use as stated by Subaru is 5W-30 for the Turbo engine.

·
Registered
2014 XT Premium auto
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
My bad, was reading the non-turbo specifications. 0W30 for turbo! I blinked and was on another page.