Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
2010 2.0 X 5MT on LPG
96 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok,
so i'm new to offroading with suv but have some experience with "real" offroad vehicles-landrover defender, lada niva, mazda 4x4 pickup...
with all of the listed above when i was in trouble, meaning got stuck into some steep hill with deep snow, i would engage reductor and some sort of differential blocking. this would always solve the problem.
with forester (2010, 2.0 manual with reductor) first of all reductor does not help a lot. ok , it cuts down gears for cca.25% which is probably good for towing but makes only small difference in offroading. more inportant thing is that, as far as i experienced, there isn't any help with central/rear/front differential blocking. on terrain this means that when one wheel looses traction it spins and your stuck in place, eventhough other three wheels have some grip.
is this normal for this vehicle or am i (or vehicle) doing something wrong?:crazy:

thanks

·
Registered
2002 Forester XS
57 Posts
The manual Forester uses a viscous-coupled limited slip differential in the centre which is reasonably effective in forcing torque front or rear as conditions require (not quite as effective as a fully locking differential though). On the MY09 and newer Foresters, the front and rear differentials have no internal limited slip functionality however these newer cars do have the ability to apply braking to a spinning wheel by way of the traction control component of the VDC. This can be a bit slow to react but will still help in cases of cross-axle wheelspin - you just need to keep your foot down on the accelerator and wait for it to start working.

·
Premium Member
2019 Crosstrek 2018 XT
14,583 Posts
Subaru is not a true dedicated off road vehicle.

[/thread]

·
Premium Member
2015 Highlander AWD XLE 6AT
4,255 Posts
Alokin,