Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2004 Forester XT
190 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im looking at purchasing an 08FXT DP (decatting) but dont know if it will match up to my 04FXT. Ill keep searching but havent found an answer yet. Thanks all for the insight!

·
Registered
Ah crap.. I'm back with my 05 XS
8,294 Posts
I have no experience with turbo exhausts so we're looking for you guys to tell us. I believe they are slightly different, which means you would require the entire section between the turbo and the catback.

08 FSXT DP

part i believe changed somewhere around 06

again

fore section

donut flange to catback

04 XT exhaust:

07/08 FSXT exhaust (turbo flange shown is wrong):

·
Registered
2008 FSXT M/T
4,167 Posts
all the turbo dps are the same throughout the years. decatting is stupid though, just get a 3" catless downpipe, they arent expensive!

·
Registered
2004 Forester XT
190 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks for the reply but the stupid comment is pretty well..... "stupid".

DP $100, adapter $50= $150, OEM DP $50. Would you like to cover the difference? :biggrin:

·
The Sub kit guy
2005 Forester X & XT VF39
13,008 Posts
The only real change between the 04 and the 08 XT turboback is the size of the midpipe resonator. Their might also be some heatshield changes, but length, size and bolt patterns are all the same.

An aftermarket catless downpipe is going to flow WAY better than a decatted OEM pipe. It is cheaper to decat a stock, but not really that much cheaper. A decatted downpipe will require a tune, and if your going to do all that you might as well do it right the first time and get a 3" aftermarket downpipe. Just having a nice big bellmount is a huge improvement over the tiny stock opening.

·
Registered
2004 Forester XT
190 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks Sea-scooby for the info and I can take that advice much more easily. :biggrin:

·
The Sub kit guy
2005 Forester X & XT VF39
13,008 Posts