Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
2010 Forester Automatic
181 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi! I owe an '04 XT for about a month now. It is all stock. I just wanted to know if I need to do any mods? If yes, can somebody be kind enough to make a list according to priority? I'm not good with cars (mechanically) but willing to learn. I'm not a speed freak but a little boost may be good. It is a family car on some occasions. In fact, I take my toddler to the babysitter everyday. I'm on a budget, I just got hired recently after being unemployed for 3 years. I am looking at spending a little one at a time and only for really necessary things. I have no plans to lower because my purpose for the Forester is to be ready in all kinds of terrain. I live in the snowy midwest!

Thanks!

·
Registered
'15 Forester XT Super CVT
150 Posts
Just maintain it, drive it and enjoy it. It's plenty fast in stock form. A lot of people mod and mod and mod without realizing that by the time they've spent xx dollars they could've just got whatever fast car they wanted in the first place. I may be biased though because I have another car for going fast. To each his own of course. Enjoy it!

·
Registered
2004 Forester XTi 4EAT
1,430 Posts
A catless up-pipe is a good start and pretty cheap. You will need one from an 04-07 STi.
Check around in the for sale forum here and on Nasioc.
Sway bars will do great things for the handling,again..used sti parts will work here.

How's the maintenance on the car? Timing belt/tensioners/water pump/pulleys already changed? This is critical for your car's longevity and for your piece of mind. Subaru suggests having it done at 105K

·
Registered
2009 2.5xt 6 Speed Swap version 8 6 speed sti trans with r180
4,150 Posts
A lot of people mod and mod and mod without realizing that by the time they've spent xx dollars they could've just got whatever fast car they wanted in the first place.