Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
2016 2.5i Premium CVT
349 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I saw this on YouTube yesterday. A good comparison of SuperTech full synthetic 5W-30 vs RedLine oil. I've been using SuperTech for a couple years now and I have been very pleased with it. Its a good quality oil at a low price.

https://youtu.be/zwqt5vI0o1A

StanF.

·
Registered
213 Posts
As long as the oil you are using meets the API standards for the car you drive you are fine. I use the wallyworld oil myself unless there is a name brand sale or rebate which often brings the price differential to less than a dollar and sometimes even cheaper. I know there are some (many?) who only use oil blended by elves in an ancient castle using a secret formula (Amsoil!), but no one has demonstrated that it makes any difference, except the exotic blenders themselves.

·
Registered
2005 Forester Automatic
495 Posts
To me the much larger debate currently is what to make of the extended interval claims by Mobil and others. If I could truly change the oil safely every 15k miles, instead of say 7500, then even at double the cost, i'd do it in a heart beat, given the reduction in time, hassle and environmental waste.

If you are following the original OCI for an older NA subie, say every 3k, then pretty much anything over crushed banana peels should work and wallyworld juice should be quite acceptable......

Personally, I am using Mobile HighMileage 5w30 for my '05 NA 2.5. I don't think I am gaining anything, but hope springs eternal that the better additive pack will bust loose a stuck oil ring eventually, resulting in less oil consumption... Dreams.....

·
Registered
2018 Forester Manual
418 Posts
It's a great oil at an also great price!

I have a pretty big stockpile of name brand oil that I've bought for <2/QT over the years, but I will probably start stocking up on this before the price goes too high.

·
Registered
2019 Forester Touring
69 Posts