Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to Subaru, love everything except 1) Loud engine, why? 2) Smaller keeping area on the front passenger side and area behind the gear changing stick next to driver. That can be improved. My 2003 Camera has way more rooms than Forester. I didn't buy extended warranty, was just wondering how many people purchase extended warranty.

·
Registered
2014 2.5i CVT
149 Posts
I'm new to Subaru, love everything except 1) Loud engine, why? 2) Smaller keeping area on the front passenger side and area behind the gear changing stick next to driver. That can be improved...
Hello and welcome. Congrat's on ur new ride and good luck "fixing" those things you'd like to change. Cheers

Reactions: Luu

·
Registered
92 Posts
Loud engine, why?
The engine is not unusually loud; you just hear it more. Subaru doesn't put as much insulation in their cars as some other car makers. Their stance has always been that the added weight, size, and cost isn't worth it.

If you want a very quiet car, Subaru is not the brand for you.

Reactions: NYC1up

·
Registered
22 Posts
Congrats and welcome. Forester is also my first car I bought (just recently in Nov). I agree with Dragon that the engine is not always loud (whatever you are comparing to). If you go on highway you will probably appreciate Subaru's ability to balance out the wind noise and the engine noise. In general, I feel it's comfortable enough. I personally have slight problem with the gas mileage :/ They said "29 combined city/highway" but I am only able to pull in 20 mpg, maybe just because i do a lot of short trips with some highway... The glovebox and the center console storage area could be deeper and bigger for sure, but it's adequate.

I am sure Subaru has heard similar feedbacks before so let's hope in the future things will only get better :D

·
Registered
2020 Forester Premium
8 Posts