Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
07 Forester Celebration
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
As part of the Geneva show presentation on the subaru-global.com website, there is a slideshow of the line-up of powerplants and of the Impreza XV.
As a newbie I cannot post the url but the following should help get you there...

/special/geneva2010_special/index.html

The press conference (and others) can be found here:
salon-auto.tv/pressconf/

Tim

·
Registered
1,054 Posts
So is it an H6 with two pots chopped off, or a diesel with sparkplugs added?
I think it's some of both. The H6 and 2.0D share the same bore spacing and cast together type cylinder liners. That means smaller bore sizes and longer strokes than current gas engines. The 2.0L layout is already there with the 2.0D except it uses pistons with really thick crowns. Gas engine pistons can be much shorter so a longer rod could be used for the 3rd Gen 2.0L gas engine. Using the shorter rods as used in the 2.0D and 3.6 H6 would allow for a longer stroke. An easy combination there would be a 2419cc H4 with two cylinders cut off the H6 like you suggest. The displacement of the H4 is not going to stretch much beyond that though as bore is close to maxed out on the H6 and the rods on the six and diesel are really at the short limit I think and overall engine width is constrained by the engine bay dimensions.

·
Registered
2010 FXT Limited 4EAT Sport Shift
1,587 Posts