Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok so as i posted on the noob forum i need to replace my soon to die slow as moped brand new 08 SX4

and so i went on the search and even though on evos, then made sense, IM A COLLEGE STUDENT! i need a reliable car and then thought subaru

then research and more and i love wagons, more research, and im bit short on cash, more research, darn that forester looks sick, I FOUND IT!

and so this are my options
04 FXT 4EAT 51k miles on the odo
05 FXT 4EAT 43k miles on the odo
07 FX stick 23k miles on the odo

they are all the same price and was wondering if its cheaper to swap the autos to manual trans ( i just don't know how to drive autos, they seem to blow up in a month or 2 ), or just do an engine/trans swap on the 07 with STi parts...

im also wanting to drop coilovers (yes i dont mind the rash ride or whatever your gona tell me) and dont know if the FX actually acomodates them

any tips and help is very very apreciated

any go use the search will be ignored, i am doing just that right now and have been doing it before i even created the account

again THANX

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
come on!!! 22 views and no one says notin?

im very biased to get the 07 as its got even less milage than my sx4... and for $13k i can't really ask for much

probably easier to swap a turbo drive line in than swap the auto to manual trans.... and i get the sesy 07 look

after reading a bit on the suspension stuff, i might actually hold the coil overs till later, and i can probably drop in a turboed V7 engine when the stock one goes boom later on (achieving a longer life span on me)

any suggestions? im really getting pissed off with the sx4, every new morning he makes a new rattle and anew sound, and the finicky brake and oil maintenance I give to every car i own is not making sense anymore if then I sell the car (700 on tires, 150 on brakes, 100 in oil change)

·