Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2010 Forester 2.5X Prem.
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I love Kayaking but have always rented. I'm purchasing my first pair of Kayak's tomorrow. I have a Subaru Forester MY10. I have the Roof Racks + Aero Cross Bars (Factory Installed)... My question is.. What type of mount do I need to put my Kayak's up there? I've seen a few like the Bow Down (Yakima), but is it possible to get two Kayaks on top of my Fozzy? Will the holders get in the way? is there enough space? I'm sorry for my ignorance, this is my first time dealing with this sort of issue. I noticed the prices of most are around $140.. I'm looking for something that can hold two Kayaks.. any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thank you for your time and patience.

·
Administrator
2004 Forester XT Premium 4EAT
29,449 Posts
You can carry two if you get the J-shaped cradle carriers like Thule Hull-a-port or Yakima Hullraiser. Do some searching around here, there a quite a few threads around that deal with this.

·
Registered
2010 Forester
35 Posts
I had J-cradles and hated them. Ended up going with the Malone Sea-Wings and have absolutely loved them ever since. Do a search on Malone here on the site. Here's my MY10 with two 14' kayaks on ... they hold the kayak very tight.

·
Registered
2010 Forester 2.5X Prem.
80 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thats amazing.. The SeaWings look nice.. I ended up getting the Yakima BigStack and that worked pretty good when taking the Kayaks home. I will keep trying it out and see how it works out.. If I end up going for something else I will definitely go for the Sea Wings. Beautiful picture btw! Thanks again.

I had J-cradles and hated them. Ended up going with the Malone Sea-Wings and have absolutely loved them ever since. Do a search on Malone here on the site. Here's my MY10 with two 14' kayaks on ... they hold the kayak very tight.

·
Registered
2004 2.0 XT MT
67 Posts