Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2009 Forester
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have 33,000 miles on my 2009 Forester base X model. It has been a great car for us and we have not performed any maintenance outside of regular oil changes and tire rotations. The dealer gave us the option of adding an extended warranty at the time of new purchase and said we could add it up to the expiration of the factory warranty. I believe it was for an additional 2 years or 24,000 miles and cost about a thousand dollars.
My question is what things should I be looking for to be replaced or upgraded under the factory warranty?
What things should I keep a careful eye on in the future?
Is it worth the extra money for the extended warranty?
My background is that I am not a mechanic but I do brakes, shocks, exhaust, fluid changes, etc.
I stink at engine diagnostics and leave that up the professionals.
I usually buy the Haynes manuals and keep up on the recommended maintenance.
We plan to keep the car for a long time if it proves to be reliable.
Any feedback?

·
Registered
2010 Forester 2.5X
1,695 Posts
isn't this your warranty?

Bumper-to-bumper: 3 year/36,000 miles.
Wear Item warranty 3 year/36,000 miles, covers premature wear: brakes, clutch linings, remote batteries, wiper blades (one time replacement) etc.
Roadside assistance 3yr/36000 miles by the Cross Country Motor Club at 800 261-2155, break-down, lock-out, flat repair etc
Powertrain: 5 year/ 60,000 miles
Corrosion, rust perforation: 5 year/100,000 miles
Emission: warranties vary by emission system and state. Minimum 3yr/36,000 with extended major emission component defect warranty 8yr/80,000
Note Warranties do not cover wear or damage due to abuse, lack of maintenance or competitive driving. Exclusions may apply, wear replacement may be one time.

36,000 mile bumper to bumper and 60,000 miles powertrain.

·
Registered
2009 Forester
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·