Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
2020 Touring as of 8/28/2020!
384 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I put this in the general forums hoping to maximize responses. Mods feel free to move this if not in the right place.
I have a 2008 MT non-turbo Forester. I just bought my first boat (18 foot Interlake-sailboat). The boat is app 650# the trailer is 800# so I know I'm well within the capapbilities of the car. My issue is that I've never launched a boat before. I went to look at the ramp at the club I have joined and it is short and very steep with some loose gravel on it. Everyone I've talked to there has said "no problem" until they hear it's a manual transmission. Then they all get concerned looks on their faces. Suffice it to say I am now terrified to do this since I know Subies don't swim. My one hope is that since my car has the "hill-holder" system I will not be needing the local dive-team's services in car retrieval. I am not a newbie driving stick-shifts since every car I've owned has been a manual and I am well into middle-agedness. So I guess what I need to know is does the fact that my car is an MT automatically rule it out in this situation which,by the way, will not be a once a season thing...more like a 2-3 times a week thing.Do any of you have any experience launching with an MT? I seriously have considered having my folks literally tether my car to their Outback just in case my Forester loses it and starts sliding backwards into the water or at the very least chocking the wheels that are not in the water. I know it will look ridiculous but seriously I only want to launch the boat not the car and trailer too.

·
Premium Member
2008 Forester X Premium 5MT
8,070 Posts
Have never done it with a Subaru but have done it with plenty of manuals. With out a hill holder once you decide to go, just go don't second guess your self.