Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
04 XT
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
I just bought my very first car. An 04 forester xt. It's an auto, but has an sti intercooler, turbo, and sway bar. I love how it drives, but my only question is if it is possible to get a little more throttle response. If I jump on the throttle, it lags just a bit, I know this comes with being an auto, but my question is there anything I can do to get a quicker throttle response? Thanks for any help. I'm very excited about it.

·
Registered
04 XT
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Sorry, I am totally new to cars, what is that and how do I find that out? Stock I would think. All I really know is that the sti turbo and stuff was put on by a dealer and tuned there.

·
The Sub kit guy
2005 Forester X & XT VF39
13,008 Posts
If the turbo and TMIC have been upgraded, you need proper engine management to run it. It won't run right without it. Are you able to find out what they did?

At a bare minimum you should pick up a Cobb Accessport and run the proper map for your setup. Ideally, you should have a Protune done from a shop to get the most out of your setup and allow it to run safely.

I

·
Administrator
2007 Forester Sports XT 4EAT
38,717 Posts
I see this is your first post, so welcome to the forum from Oregon! :biggrin:

I find that the power will come on smoother if I don't stomp the accelerator. Also, consider keeping the 4EAT in 3 around town when you're under 50 MPH. If you look at the AT shifter layout, it's setup for this. :wink:

Bobby...

['07 FSXT MODding Journal] ['03 X MODding Journal]

·
Registered
2007 FSTI and X 6 MT
22,252 Posts
Welcome to the forum.

Update your profile with your loation so members can suggest people near you for help. Also I agree with sea scooby on engine management. Cobb stuff works great and is very user friendly even for those who are challenged when it comes to cars/computers.

·
Registered
04 XT
9 Posts