Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hallo everyone,

I'm new to the Subaru and 4x4 scene.

I need some advice on what to go for - Jeep vs. Forester.

I used to be a Ford man - driving a 312bhp/470nm (346 foot-pound) Ford Sierra Cosworth rwd from 1989. Sold it a couple of years ago.

For some time I have been contemplating buying a 4x4 as I like these big cars luxurious. I live in the country so 4x4 would also be nice to have in the winter time.

By chance I got to drive a 1999 Jeep Grand Cherokee V8 4.7 at my local mechanic. He bought the Jeep for himself, but of course it was for sale if I wanted to buy.

Cosmetically the Jeep did not look very good but it drove great and I loved the sound of an American V8 :)

Driving the Jeep lit a spark so this weekend I went out to try this one at a dealer nearby.

Jeep Grand Cherokee 4,7HO Overland 2003 aut.
To see pics goto "bratting.dk" > click "Erhverv" > click "Jeep Grand Cherokee 4,7 Overland aut.".

It drives better than the one from 1999 and overall is in better condition.

At the dealer there was also another 4x4 for sale so I had to try that one as well – to compare.

Subaru Forester 2.5 XT AWD 2006
To see pics goto "bratting.dk" > click "Erhverv" > click "Subaru Forester 2,5 XT AWD Van".

I must say it is two VERY different cars. But I like them both for what they are. So the big question is: Which one is the better all-round car in daily driving. I'll be doing mostly on-road driving, but I would like the car also to have fair off-road capabilities.

I was very impressed with the performance of the Forester – also coming from the modding scene of my Ford Sierra Cosworth I also love this is possible with the Forester.

As this a Forester forum I'm guessing the votes will go for the Forester :) – but still, I would like to hear the good and not so good about the Forester – and perhaps someone in here also have hands-on experience with the Jeep.

BR Søren