Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2004 Forester XT
96 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have owned a few manual tranny cars in the past but never had the capability or need to change the clutch during the time I owned them.

I currently own a 2004 forester XT 5 spd and have been having some issues when shifting. The car currently has 133xxx km(83xxx miles), and the clutch has never been replaced.

I have not had any slippage issues(that I can tell) with the clutch, but my shifting point is now very close to the clutch pedal being all the way out. Also if I shift without being very smooth( read slightly aggresive) the car will lurch, like I am new to driving a standard. The RPMs don't go up at any point during this, they stay rock solid, the car just starts bounce a bit. If I am light on the shifts, the car won't do it at all.

Also I can give it as hard as I want in 3rd, 4th and 5th with no issues and the lurching during shifting doesn't happen.

Is my clutch worn out or possibly my pressure plate? Or is it something else?

If the clutch is going, is there any way to adjust the pedal shift point a little further in, so I can buy a couple more weeks,while I order in a clutch?

·
Registered
04 Forester X, MT
1,039 Posts
clutch actuation is hydraulic, not cable, so I don't believe there is any real adjustment to the "take up" point?! you may want to check the hydraulic system to be sure clutch master cylinder has plenty of fluid and slave cylinder and hose aren't leaking. there is an "inspection cover" on top of the tranny near the firewall that can be removed to look at the clutch, but I don't know how much more difficult this might be to get to on a turbo versus an N/A. you may have to rotate the motor slightly to get a good view of things since the pressure plate cover will be in the way part of the time.

my '04 NA clutch was well over 1/2 worn out at 86kmi but i've only had it since 74k so I don't know how the last owner drove it.