Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm getting ready to move in early July from California to Western New York State. I don't have a car now (not needed) but will need one pretty soon after my arrival in Buffalo.

I am a total noob when it comes to car buying. The info I am able to gather from you here on pricing is priceless (haha!), and I wonder if you can help me with something else:

Is it possible/advisable to negotiate with the local dealer here (only one in San Luis Obispo, next one is 100 miles away), arrive at a fair price for a model 'in transit', and then have this model delivered to a different dealership in Buffalo?

That way, I could order the car I want, without being affected by transit time. Plus, I have more time now to do this, than in July.

So my first question is: Is it possible?

Second question: Do you see any risks in this that would speak against it?

Many thanks!

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
And third question

And third: Or is it better to negotiate with dealers in and around Buffalo over the phone, maybe put down a deposit, and then pick up the car after I arrived?

What is a typical timeline I can expect for this, so I know when to start shopping to have the car ready for me by early July?

Thanks!

·
Registered
2019 Forester
6 Posts
I live in California, and ordered a car directly from a Colorado Springs dealership a few years ago. The car was ordered with a 12 week estimated timeframe. No problems at all with the transaction. That dealer's price was better than anything I could find in California. The savings paid for the trip and I registered the car when I returned to California. Buying from a dealer that actually provides delivery the car probably makes the most sense even if you could buy in Calif and take delivery elsewhere.

·
Registered
2015 2.5i Premium CVT
227 Posts