Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
2010 Forester X
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Does anyone have any experience with the IPOD Interface kit for the 09-10 Foresters? I have a 2010 X with the factory stereo. The Subaru parts listing does not recommend the kit for the X, but only for the Premiums and above tr im levels. I looked at the factory stereo for the Premium and it looks identicle to why I have. Is it possible to use he IPOD kit in my car? And is the IPOD kit really a worth while purchase to begin with?

·
Registered
2010 Forester X
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I did consider that option. It's just that I hate to start deleting factory parts at 1500 miles. There are other mods that are much higher on my priority list. My current head unit works fine for now I guess. Thanks for the suggestion though.

·
Registered
2020 Touring
151 Posts
Living with OEM Nav with iPod option

Carpenter, I'm not an expert on the OEM HU's but having owned my new '10 Ltd since Jan. in hindsight if I had to do over I would not have ordered my car with the OEM Nav setup. But not knowing better when I ordered the car last Oct. After market units are much better. I'm living with it and for the most part it's okay.
I believe the HU must be capable of having satellite connection capability, don't think the basic X models have that. But if it does it's just a matter of obtaining the proper kit for the correct generation iPod (5V vs. 12V charging) and installing it.
There are differences between the '09 & '10's if you go to Subaru Free Publications and look through the iPod install guides it may help.
Sorry couldn't give you a definite answer.

Free Publications > Accessory Installation Guides

·
Registered
2010 Forester X
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks. That's good to know. I do have a HU capable of Sat. Radio so I must have an upgraded unit. But there seems to be a pattern forming with the aftermarket radio suggestion. Decisions decisions...

·