• a different color (list below)

Votes: 11 10.8%
1 - 20 of 41 Posts

·
Registered
'15 2.5i Touring
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Am I the only one who thinks the platinum interior is somewhat bland? It's not quite light. It's not quite dark. It's almost too neutral.

Platinum is the only interior color available in 6 out of the 9 exterior color choices. Black is only available in Spark Silver Metallic, Paprika Red Pearl, and Obsidian Black Pearl.

I would definitely prefer black interior to be available with other exterior color choices.

·
Registered
04 Forester 2.5 XT AT
430 Posts
I totally agree! I sell Acura cars for a living and I run in to that problem all the time, there are certain interior/exterior options and you cannot special order...it is very difficult when you become attached to an exterior to be slapped in the face with only one crappy interior options and I wish car manufacturers would give people more options! Oh well.

IMO the Platinum is nice though, keeps the whole interior a little cooler than if it were black...

·
Registered
2009 Forester XT
34 Posts
This issue was pretty much what led to my getting the Satin White car, which otherwise wouldn't have been my first choice. Personally I don't like black interiors; they're dark, hot, and show every crumb of dust and debris--I think they make it like driving in a cave. That, of course, limited my exterior color choices to those available with the platinum interior. Now, I'm not a big fan of gray either (I agree that it's a little dull-much prefer tan), but would take it over black any day. The only exterior color available with platinum I was even remotely interested in was the white (of course now they come out with the Camellia Red with the platinum interior, but that combo wasn't available when I bought my car in May of '08--would have grabbed that in a minute), so that's what I ended up with. Not crazy about spending $30K on a car and picking the color by default rather than choice, but...