Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
2011 Forester 2.5X Manual w/ Ko'2
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello Forester owners :smile2:

I just installed a complete short ram intake kit. Cobb ram air w/box and Perrin turbo inlet. First of all I am no professional mechanic, simply amateur. Let me say the inlet is the worst job I can remember doing so far, what a pita! So I stop complaining, now the job is done.

My concern and the true reason of this post is about the intake manifold. To be able to complete the job, I loosen the 6 long bolts that attach the aluminium part of the manifold to the engine block. I did not remove it entirely because this is another crazy job, just enough to give me some room. I did not replaced the manifold gaskets because like I said removing it completely is kind out of my league. I just torqued back the screws to 20 ft-lbs, but now I fear the worst. This engine is boosted, 9 years old, the perfectionist in me think it was a bad idea...

So now, my question is, will I notice right away if a leak is present?
My best idea was to watch out for the boost gauge value, see if its solid, if its not probably a leak?

Let me know what you guys think.

*********************************************************************************************************

·
Registered
2012 XT Touring 4EAT
3,751 Posts
I just installed a complete short ram intake kit. Cobb ram air w/box and Perrin turbo inlet. First of all I am no professional mechanic, simply amateur. Let me say the inlet is the worst job I can remember doing so far, what a pita! So I stop complaining, now the job is done.