Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2010 Forester X Premium
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I'm new to the forum. Looks like there is a lot of great info. I have a question about steering wheel controls. Unfortunately most of the threads about them were talking about aftermarket stereos etc. My question is (hopefully) simpler:

I want to purchase a 2009 Forester base model, and would like to install the stock steering wheel controls that are on the left branch of the column (I would attach a pic but apparently newbies can't!).

I was wondering whether this is something I can do myself (I'm an electrical engineer, but not too experienced on doing car mods) or whether I should have the dealer do it. Could I find the parts? Does it involve lots of disassembly? Etc.

Thanks in advance for your advice.

·
Registered
2010 Forester X Premium
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks that's perfect! I appreciate your quick response too.

Next time I'll remember to read through each thread to the last page... :)

·
Registered
1996 SVX
473 Posts
Adding OEM Audio SWC pod to recent Forester and Imprezas

(Click for larger image. Photo by Cerreta)​

Disconnect the negative terminal from your car's battery for 20 minutes (or longer, if specified by the shop manual), to allow the stored power to drain from the airbag system.

Here's where Cerreta's walk-through starts (in the thread TC2000 linked to above):
Subio the 2009 Forester 2.5x with Upgrades Galore (post #61)
BTW, Seek Down is 1.15 K ohms (not 1.15 ohms) :rolleyes:
Several more links & pictures:

A great walk-thru on 3gwrx.com:
FordNoMore on mp3car.com added the audio button panel to his 2008 WRX (this is the thread that Cerreta quoted):

Transplant into a 2006 FXT: