Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi,

I'm driving a 2000 Subaru Forester Automatic in Kenya. I have no access to/knowledge of a reliable independent mechanic here, and would really value your expertise to help me judge this situation.

I had a leaking radiator a while back, and had it repaired at an independent (but allegedly reputable, city-center) garage. Now these guys replaced the original plastic top-part of the radiator (tank), where the leak was, with a metal/brass one. This seems to work fine, there is no overheating shown on my controls anymore. The metal spare part looks like it fits well on the rest of the radiator.

Yesterday I brought my car to the official Subaru garage in Nairobi for an unrelated check-up/enginge diagnostic, and they came back to me and claimed that it is dangerous to use a metal spare part on the original aluminium bottom part of the radiator, and that this might cause untold problems in the future (due to heat issues). One possible reason given by someone I asked is that it "is kind of a bad idea to use a copper or brass radiator as the indifferent materials can cause a chemical reaction in the cooling system resulting in electrolysis." They quoted me a price of a little under USD 1,000 to replace the radiator completely.

My three questions are:

1. Does the explanation I was given ("never use non-standard metal tank on aluminium core, this requires complete replacement") sound at all reasonable? How do you judge this?

2. Is a price of USD1,000 even anywhere close to reasonable for a radiator replacement on a 2000 Subaru Forester Automatic?

3. What is the worst that could happen if I stick with the metal/brass-part - wouldn't I be warned by my controls showing overheating if any problem arose, and could take action if and when that happens?

Thanks a lot,
JM

·
Registered
2004 XT AT
1,101 Posts