Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
HOW TO GUIDE -- Adding Aux-In Audio Port to Stock Radio
Models Tested: Forester 2006 X (though this would work with other models/stereos with a little investigative work)

Mods might want to sticky this since it tends to be a big complaint with some Subaru owners.

So I spent a few hours today getting this thing nailed down. I couldn't find any guides on how to do this in a way in which I felt was ideal (i.e., without a kit), so I thought I would just rip that sucker out, take it apart, and figure it out from there. Now I am by no means an expert with electronics -- this was the first time I used the soldering iron in a couple years, but it worked beautifully nonetheless. All the audio processing effects work fine (fade, balance, bass, treble), and all the CD and Radio functionality is left in check.

Tooles of Ye Trade

• Soldering Iron and solder - a fine tip is ideal.
  • 3 wires - any color, I chose red, white, black to keep in convention
  • Any sort of audio plug(s) you desire for 2 channels -- I chose a female 3.5mm jack.
  • Screw Driver
  • Some tape -- electrical is ideal, duct should work.
  • Some time - around 4 hours for me, less with a guide.
  • A CD with silence -- a silent .wav file can be generated with Audacity, this is explained later.

Hearing the Magic
  1. Get the radio out. There are plenty of guides on how to do this, so I won't rehash it here. It's sort of a pain in the ol' burro, but it's worth it in the end. One thing that took me a while to figure out is that the air temperature and vent selection twisty-knobs are connected by mechanical linkages that must be disconnected under the driver side and passenger side. I sort of messed up my air temp linkage, (still works, just have to really shove it to get some heat), so be a little careful with those.