Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
2009 Forester
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just bought a 2009 Forester with the basic audio package. I'm not an audiophile by any means, but I've never had a car with such abysmal sound. I love music, and desperately need to upgrade this. I have lots of electronics experience (I'm a physicist), but little with audio or car audio equipment, so I don't know where to start.

I don't have a budget for this, but I don't want to spend more than I need to - I'm not looking for a top of the line system, just a better one. (For example, I previously drove a 1997 Honda Accord with stock speakers but an aftermarket head unit, an Alpine cde-9845, and I was satisfied. I actually still have that head, if its usable here.)

I've read some threads here, but still don't know what to do - I need help both developing a plan and picking parts. For instance, I know some people added an amp, changed the speakers, and kept the head. Others replaced just the head, or just the speakers. What, on this car, will give the greatest rewards for the least money and changes to the car? If the head unit is adequate, I'd prefer to keep it for its look, but I'm also not opposed to changing it. Do you guys have any suggestions? Thanks for any help you can provide.

·
Registered
2001 Forester Slushbox
1,777 Posts
Head unit sux,almost anything is better.
Speakers next although they don't sound bad for as cheapy as they are with a better head unit.

What and how you listen to it really determines what kind of set up you want.

·
2010 Forester XT 4EAT
1,118 Posts