Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. I’m new to Subaru and have heard there’s not as much room to negotiate as other brands. I’m not sure how much that’s true. If I’m offered an invoice price if $32200, what is a reasonable counter offer as well as expected middle point? Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
2018 Forester XT Touring HT-CVT
539 Posts
Your target should try to be $1k-2k off invoice (depending on trim) and then try to find a point to meet in between. Never settle on invoice.

·
Registered
2019 Forester Sport
79 Posts
Ask the dealer for an invoice. I don't have an example but there are images floating here in the forums which will show you what they look like. It will be from Subaru of America printed potrait on normal sized paper.

I live in the heart of Subaru country here in the Pacific Northwest. Foresters here at every corner. Don't let them fool you into a higher price. You will be able to do 1-2k off invoice. I am a timid individual but with perseverance I managed to get 1.5k below invoice. Don't do the walk out "trick" that people love to tout here. Commit to a price, have them "talk" to the manager a few times. Don't let them give you the "but how will we make money if we're selling below invoice?" talk. Be prepared to leave empty handed and go on to the next dealership.

I know you didn't ask for negotiating tips, but I felt like you should know.

·
Registered
2017 Forester
38 Posts
I have generally used the rule of thumb that OTD "out the door" price....including all doc fees, taxes, registration, etc....should be just about the same as the sticker price.
This is maybe ~~10% discount here in California.
Really helps too, to buy something that they have in stock on the lot.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discounts also vary heavily by region. Certain regions are more willing to discount than others.