Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
2010 XT
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Coming from a 5MT WRX that I pushed to redline daily, I'm new to the 4EAT. How hard can I push this thing after the break-in period? I KNOW the engine can handle the 6K RPM, but what about the 4EAT? I'm sure getting it to the rev limiter is hard unless you use the tip-tronic (which is a tease really).

I did some searching and saw that there's a few of you out there that have gone stage 2 and beyond with some VF39 and VF43's . . . so its gotta be able to handle the power.

·
Premium Member
'09 STI
4,129 Posts
You can break anything with abuse. Just keep in mind it's a Forester not an STI and you'll be fine. Even the STI isn't designed for 1/4 mile abuse.

·
Registered
2010 XT
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Sorry . . . forgot to add its a 2010 XT.

I don't plan to track/drag the thing by any means . . . I just like to drive HARD.

·
Registered
none none
8,844 Posts
I've been driving my 04 XT with the 4eat hard, WOT daily for the past 100,000+ miles. Its starting to show the abuse, but have yet to actually break anything. Just be careful, all the mounts have a TON of play in them, especially for the rear diff, and the mount holding the back of the transmission, so try not to have everything banging around too much.

Also I'd recommend doing a drain and fill on the transmission regularly, don't just wait until 60,000+ miles to do a flush/drain.

·
Registered
2010 XT
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I've been driving my 04 XT with the 4eat hard, WOT daily for the past 100,000+ miles. Its starting to show the abuse, but have yet to actually break anything. Just be careful, all the mounts have a TON of play in them, especially for the rear diff, and the mount holding the back of the transmission, so try not to have everything banging around too much.