Subaru Forester Owners Forum banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
09 Forester TE
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dear All

What to do about this noise ?? (See attached file 09Foresternoise.zip)

I have an 09 Forester (N/A Auto) bought new and now with 22000 miles. (completely pampered, running Amsoil from 10K miles). Right from day 1 the car makes a horrendous noise if it's cold outside for perhaps the first 3-4 minutes. This only happens in at below 20 F, and my wife refuses to drive the car in winter and instead takes the bus to work. (maddening because that's why I bought the damn thing) Listen to the noise and you'll see why, it wakes the neighbours.

I discussed it with the dealers service supervisor, now I'm no mechanic but I know his answer of "It's a boxer engine and so it takes oil longer to reach the heads, that's the rattle of unlubricated valvetrain and it is normal" is utter b******t.

I recorded this audio file with my digital camera.
The first couple of seconds you can hear the key turning the ignition.
2-4 seconds is the starter
At approx 4 seconds the car starts and you hear a slight startup rattle.
At 5 or 6 seconds, the damn noise starts.
I then get out the car
At 13 seconds I'm opening the hood
At 18 seconds you can hear the noise with the hood open.

You'll see it is totally drowning out the engine noise, and it means my wife will put the car away over the winter (need to keep friendly neighbours).

I don't trust the dealer at all based on his last comment and really can't be bothered with multiple trips to the dealer, we're planning to get a winter beater instead.

Any ideas ??

From a thoroughly dissatisfied 09 Forester owner.

Regards
Jonathan.

Attachments

·
Registered
2008 Forester 2.5X Prem
308 Posts